Finding A Mouse In Bed… Lesson Learned…

Image

My home healthcare aide, Tenaye, has been with me now for over two years. Doing all the things for me that I can no longer do that I have MS for the past 40 years.; cleaning house, helping me to shower, exercise and  get in and out of bed amongst a myriad of other things. She is one of the kindest, gentlest souls that I have ever had the privilege of meeting. Even though her English, is not the best being from Ethiopia, we do very well communicating with one another, particularly because she has a wonderful sense of humor. Not quite as raunchy as mine is so I never curse in her presence, or disrespect any of her religious beliefs.

Deeply religious and Christian, Tenaye’s interpretation of the Bible is different than mine and even though I am not at all religious in the sense of belonging to one particular church I am  however deeply spiritual in the sense of believing in a higher power, the of  power of love, forgiveness, positivity and the power of intention.

Image

Being a single mother with four children she is an extremely strong person with an attitude of gratitude and blessing she has gotten through some extremely hard times. And her sense of humor brings a smile to my face every single day from the stories she tells me of her kids and things that they are up to.

The other day she told me that she brought the computer mouse with her in her purse because the kids were spending so much time playing games on the computer and not enough time reading and doing other things, including the tasks that she had assigned to them. And since she wasn’t there to monitor them all day long, she decided that this was the best thing to do. Later on in the day she got a telephone call from her middle son who is now 14 years old and he is asking if she knew where the mouse was. She told him she had it with her and they would have to find other ways to keep themselves occupied. To say he was not happy is an understatement.

Image

The next morning when she looked for the mouse again to take with her my wonderful aide could not find it anywhere. Finally, when she went into her five-year-old daughter’s bedroom to wake her up she saw the mouse under her pillow. That little stinker had taken the mouse to bed with her so that her mother would not find it and take it away for the day. As Deborah slowly woke up she realized what her mom had in her hand and smiled broadly, begging her mother to let the kids play computer games during the day. Being sympathetic and trusting Tanaye agreed with the stipulation that they could each have one hour to play on the computer, and of course they all agreed heartily. Who knows if they kept their promise or not but I can imagine that they all kept each other in check.

Image

She is a reminder to me every day of my blessings, and certainly she is one of them. I prayed and meditated for an aide to come to me, that would suit me and lo and behold, I asked, and I received.

ImageYou can read more funny, sad, tender, real-life stories of my life lived with MS in my book, Potty Mouth.

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

