It’s Up To You To Find Beauty In The Ugliest of Days

Image

It’s Up To You To Find Beauty In The Ugliest of Days

No matter how much you have, no matter how much you don’t have, if it is much, or if it is little, the very best way to go about life is with the feeling of gratitude for everything and everybody that you surround yourself with. When you are feeling gloomy, in a bad mood or downright angry you are accomplishing nothing but harm to yourself.

 The best way to get out of negative thinking is to think about something positive. Be grateful for your favorite coffee cup. Be thankful that you are feeling better today than you were yesterday. Give thanks for the great blue sky and for your neighbor’s lovely lawn.

Image

Get into the habit of being grateful every single day. Make a list and keep adding to it and you’ll be surprised at just how many things you are grateful for. And then realize that many of the items that you have on your list are not  actually “things.”at all. They are feeling and emotions of happiness and joy. And then you can actually see that you CAN change your mood and that you are in charge of your feelings. You can change from pessimism and gloom to optimism and joy in the blink of an eye. You really are in control of your life.

Image

And I am living proof. I have gone through a devastating depression and thoughts of suicide to being an advocate for people with disabilities and MS in particular. I have had MS for 40 years, I have written a book about my struggles and my climb up the mountain to a place that I never dreamed was possible. I am much more peaceful, calm and able to handle whatever comes before me. And I am able to see the good in everything and everyone. Sometimes it comes with angst and struggle. And, by meditating every day I can find my way.

One of the biggest lessons that I learned along the way was way to keep my damn mouth shut. I went to a devastating divorce during that time. My MS was getting worse and worse and I had a husband who was just not up to the task of having a disabled wife. He also during that time became terribly verbally abusive. Somehow I found the strength within me to get through all of that and then to be able to write a book about the lessons that I learned in life and how I got through all of my trials and tribulations. With the help of a higher power I am now a much better person for all that. It was hell and I’ve made it through!

Image

One of my biggest struggles lately is this terrible mind fog of MS. I am having a very hard time concentrating on any one thing. I seem to slip into a state of unconsciousness for I literally cannot get my thoughts together. I cannot get my thoughts into one cohesive sentence for everything makes sense. And it is frustrating and seems that the time just slips through my fingers and nothing gets written on my page.

When I’m having a conversation with someone, even someone very near and dear to me I have to be very conscious of words coming out of my mouth, because sometimes they just don’t make any damn sense. There were times when I actually pretend that I have made up word so that someone will not know that my mouth has just stumbled over a roadblock in my thoughts. I am conscious that this particular symptom in my path of MS is getting worse. And the one thing that I did not want to do is to dwell on this negative process.Image

I take a couple of deep breaths, 8 counts in and eight counts out and consciously think of something wonderful in my life in order to get back on track. Crossing over to the sunny side of the street.

you can find more pictures and my thoughts on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/RenaeClare

and on my blog page right here http://thepottymouthbook.me/

If you are interested in learning more about how to get my book, if you  want an inspiring story, if you have a love of reading or if you need information about disabilities check out the Potty Mouth website. Thank you so much and I wish you well!  http://www.thepottymouthbook.com/

Front Cover    Image

Back Cover      Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

