Newspaper Article… There is Life With MS

Image

Well now, what do you know about that?  I am humbled and joyful that my MS story is getting noticed.  I read somewhere that no one heals completely from emotional trauma until someone hears their story. I believe it was in the book My Lobotomy by Howard Dully. His story is truly remarkable and if you get a chance please read that book. It is a wonder.

For me that certainly is true.  Until I started to share and to write down my story, my traumas, my life experiences that were so painful at the time and then to realize the freedom that has come from telling my story is tremendous.

I feel cleansed of all garbage that I have been dragging around the last 50 something years.  and so what I have presented below is a newspaper article written about me and my book, Potty Mouth. It is  available now on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Author House and other booksellers nationwide. Enjoy and thank you!

The Paramus Post - Greater Paramus News and Lifestyle Webzine

Thursday, July 26, 2012, 05:32 PM EDT

‘There Is Life With MS,’ Says Survivor

By mel fabrikant    Saturday, July 07, 2012, 11:06 AM EDT

New book gives hope to others with disease. The National Multiple Sclerosis Society reports there are approximately 400,000 people with Multiple Sclerosis (MS) in the U.S. today—with 200 more people diagnosed every week.

 

Renae Clare is one of these 400,000 who does not let her condition bring her down. She chose instead to share her story of living with MS for 40 years in her new book, Potty Mouth: A Woman Disabled with Multiple Sclerosis Bravely Meets Life’s Challenges with Courage, Wisdom, and a Profane Sense of Humor, hoping to inspire others living with the disease
“I live life in a wheelchair and yet I am optimistic about the future and focus on the things that I am able to do, and not on the things that the disease has taken away,” Clare says about why she wrote her book. “My mission in life is to help as many people as possible.”
Potty Mouth began as confessions and thoughts during therapy sessions dealing with Clare’s emotionally-devastating divorce and her difficulty dealing with the incurable and debilitating disease. Her doctor recommended writing things down as her MS often made speaking difficult, and as Clare continued this form of therapy she realized she had a lot to share.
Charming and humorous on paper as well as in person, Clare offers insight into dealing with a life-altering disability, enduring family hardships, and all the while picking up the pieces and finding a purpose in life.
“I want people to feel inspired, to feel that there is hope at the end of a long dark tunnel, to know that going to some sort of therapy will be healing and will help them get on with their life and find some hidden talent and purpose within,” Clare says. “I want people to feel hope.”
Potty Mouth: A Woman Disabled with Multiple Sclerosis Bravely Meets Life’s Challenges with Courage, Wisdom, and a Profane Sense of Humor
By Renae Clare
Paperback, $19.95
Kindle, $7.69
ISBN: 978-1-4685-6240-8
For more information visit www.amazon.com , www.barnesandnoble.com  , and www.thepottymouthbook.com

About the author
Renae Clare grew up on a farm in North Dakota and lived in New York for 37 years before moving to Carrollton, Texas where she now lives with her daughter, and has a son who lives in Houston. Clare was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in 1972 and has been going to therapy sessions since 1998, from which she gained much of her influence for her book.

 

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Newspaper Article… There is Life With MS

  1. Lori says:

    Yeaaa You are going to be famous! Girlfriend I wrote Ellen about you but they havent replied yet. Thats where you need to go on the Ellen show.

    • renaeclare says:

      Yaaay Lori, I can’t wait to be on the Ellen show! Next for the idea I’ll have to do some marketing and publicizing in that direction….I can’t believe that you actually wrote the show! Thank you so much… I hope you are doing well…

  2. A Dog With Fleas says:

    Great article!! And I totally agree with therapy. My therapist said I wasn’t dealing wtih my MS (by not thinking or doing anything about it. I acted like I didn’t have it as a way of deflecting the disease) And like you said, once you go and start hashing out everything, it makes a world of difference. Good luck to you and so happy an article was written about the way you carry on with life. It is an inspiration to us all!!

  3. renaeclare says:

    Thank you so much for your beautiful comments. I cannot in all good conscience Called You Adogwithfleas. Just can’t do it so please give me your name! That way I feel like I’m having a conversation with a real person and not a mongrel. I know you’re intent is for the boys who come
    around lol and give you such great material to fight about. Keep on writing my friend, and please please please keep on with your therapy. It will make you a better person and a better writer. At least it did for me.
    Ye my dear,
    Renae

Leave a Reply

