Words That Stab

Image

I have had MS for over 40 years and I heard every one of those comments above and oh so many more. Of course everyone means well,  even my sister who says that if I would just read the Bible every day and get myself saved by Jesus that I will be on my way to Heaven. Well, now wouldn’t that just be lovely!  What I really wanted to say to her was fuck you!  But of course I didn’t. Perhaps if she had said that  to me in person and not over the telephone I would’ve been able to stab her in the heart… but of course I didn’t. I just thought about it afterwards.

And of course there was always the advice that comes from a complete stranger who knows someone with multiple sclerosis who is doing very well and that you can’t even tell that she’s sick. Of course this person knows nothing about the symptoms of MS but still cannot resist  telling  you how the friend of his second cousin’s son cured himself with the bee sting therapy. I’ve never tried the bee sting thing. And I don’t ever plan to purposefully get stung by an insect.

One of my best friends told me that I really should start to eat meat again even though I have not eaten beef or pork for at least 35 years. And the reason that I stopped in the first place was because I had read that cutting down on red meat was healthier for people with MS as well as for anyone in general. I changed my diet for my own good and I’m certainly not going to change it because someone else says that I need to put a little meat on my bones.

I have learned over the course of the years having a chronic disease  to not pay attention to dingbats. It’s like cutting out fat. The more you do it the better you will feel. Why waste energy trying to get them to stop saying ridiculous things when all you have to do is to stop them in their tracks and tell them that you are doing your goddamn best and you don’t need them to tell you what to do. Tell them you have done enough research on the Internet to write a thesis to complete your doctorate and one of the things that you have learned is to not listen to people who irritate you or stress you out. let them know that that can exacerbate MS  Believe me, they won’t know what an exacerbation is anyway. Fuck em!

Be sure to order your copy of Potty Mouth! It is a book that I have written as a memoir concerning my life living with multiple sclerosis. The subtitle reads a woman disabled with multiple sclerosis copes with life’s challenges with courage, wisdom and a profane sense of humor. If you are looking for an inspirational read this is a great book for you. I am very proud of this endeavor of mine and my goal is to help as many people as possible in the time that I am given on this Earth. You can find Potty Mouth on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Author House, as an e-book and as a paperback. Thank you so much for looking!

http://www.amazon.com/books  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Words That Stab

  1. Lynn Smith says:

    omg you are so right on!

  2. renaeclare says:

    thank you Lynn! You are one cool chick!

  3. Lori says:

    Right as always I copied the picture Im gonna put it on fb today. If I can get the nerve up. You know I dont want people to think I dwell on ms but what can I do its in my head? lol Love ya Renae

    • renaeclare says:

      hi Lori, that is the reason I write. Because we dwell on things him and it helped so much to get it out, smack it down and put it on paper. Or the computer screen as the case may be. Write down what you were feeling and send it to me and if you are afraid to post it yourself I will post it for you. I know exactly the feeling that you were talking about. That you don’t want people to think you were feeling sorry for yourself, dwelling on it, or whining about having MS. That’s exactly the way I feel and the only way that I can overcome it is by writing. It’s the only way that the words, making any sense
      .
      You have given me so much courage to move on and to keep my head up high when I was feeling unsure of myself and feeling that other people were trying to trample me. My goal is to help other people to keep their heads above water. Just like you said to me, keep your head up! And post everything MS on Facebook.. it makes you interesting!
      love ya too Lori

Leave a Reply

