Dating a Disability

Image

Dating a Disability

I found out quite some time ago that there are websites devoted specifically to people who have a disability or who are looking for someone who has a specific disability. All you do is type in your disability and you can find who you are looking for. It’s just that easy! Isn’t that astonishing? I mean I understand those of us with problems who are looking for relationships and that can be a challenge but how about someone looking for a specific challenge. I mean my life is challenging enough  without adding more difficulties. But that’s just me.

For example there are those who are specifically looking for; hold onto your hats boys and girls, people with Mastocytosis, Meniere’s Syndrome, MG (Myasthenia Gravis), Migraine, Moebius Syndrome, Multiple Sclerosis, Muscular Dystrophy, Myopia and those are just the ones that start with the letter M!

That is because I have the disease multiple sclerosis. There are people looking for others with every other known disease in the alphabet including, under the letter O, Ostomy. Yeesch. And that is no laughing matter. or maybe it is and you should insert your own inappropriate laughter here.

I haven’t actually done this yet but I do get weekly updates from datingdisabled.net under a different e-mail address. The choices that I have been given  are all so varied in their descriptions. A couple of them look as though they are recently escaped from prison and one, whose name was given as Samson with extremely long curly hair looks like a champion arm wrestler. But I try not to judge by looks alone because I certainly hate it when that happens to me.

On the site it also asks what qualities you would like to see in your potential match. Here is the response of one of the guys suggested for me and please note that he said it screaming because it is all in caps. That is not me typing with the caps Lock on. That is actually a guy wishing to get matched up with a potential date. Well, it ain’t gonna be me. I don’t like being yelled at. And please note these are his exact words.

“WHAT I LIKE TO SEE IS HER TO TRY TO SMILE HAVE A GOOD SENSE OF HUMOR, AND JUST BE HER SELF AND DON’T SMOKE.”
Just because you have a disability doesn’t mean you can’t be well spoken. At any rate, I wish you well in your Internet search for a relationship. Just proceed with caution.
I write quite extensively on this topic in the book I have written entitled  Potty Mouth. In fact have written a whole chapter on dating a disability. If you want to know more about my book and about my self checkout the website below. Thanks so much.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dating a Disability

  1. Angela Foster says:

    I hope you told the ass to take a hike!

Leave a Reply

